Battering the Achilles

It turns out that 10 years of agricultural running like this has given my achilles a bit of a battering.

The truth is that after a good season last year, I finished feeling pretty broken. At the age of 57 I’d pushed myself harder than ever before to PB at half marathon level, and to do well on the track too.

I managed to do what I wanted at mile, 3k, 5000m right up to half marathon distance and was pleased with my rankings, and with a national medal won in Dundee on one of the hottest days of the year.

So now it’s time to lean in to an achilles problem which I’ve had for a while, evidenced by an angry looking lump of tangled cells just above my heel.

I’ve been running through it, dealing with it by letting it settle down and running every other day. But that’s not really a plan. I guess anxiousness about getting back to running after a layoff in December and January, has probably exacerbated the problem.

So, no racing or fast sessions for a few weeks. Just easy running, lots of gym work, heel drops three times a day, physio and er, shockwave therapy. I’ll be helping out with the coaching at my club West End Road Runners too and I’ve got my work at Athletics Trust Scotland which has reached quite an exciting stage.

Then once this is sorted I’ll be back, with a little fire in my belly, looking to do well again.

So that’s it for now! But hopefully not for long.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑