Runship 

A different start to the running year. It should be about putting your gear on, getting out and running with your buddies right?

Not so simple. Our old running club has run its course. Willing runners lost their coach. A marathon story without a happy ending.

Coupled with that I have a job which I enjoy. But long flights and late nights don’t necessarily translate to miles on the road, at any pace.

So taking all of this into account, I have a decision to make. Stick or twist. Cut or run.

I’ve made up my mind. I’m going to run and not run away. What did it for me is the outlook and drive of my running buddies and listening to a man called Javier Bajer. He spoke to me and some of my colleagues at work about leadership and its opposite, victimship.

Victimship, he said, is when you just accept your lot. You cede control to agendas and rules set by others, and to your circumstances. Quite apart from having no control over what you do, when and how you do it, you give up your voice and opinion. It’s not a great place to be.

It made me think. So I will run and I will build on what I can do (which I know in relative terms isn’t much). We’ve decided to build a new running club called West End Road Runners.

It’ll be successful because of the goodwill of those who belong to it, and because there is a quiet and powerful determination to create something with the right values at its core.

And me? I aim to have a great year with my running. And whilst my views are completely inconsequential in the grand scheme of things, I recognise victimship when I see it. And it’s wrong.

Javier Bajer’s site

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

